HVAC&R Advisory Board

Dear Fellow Supporters of Cal Poly HVAC&R,

HVACOur endowment was created to specifically support the HVAC&R program at Cal Poly, which means that all proceeds can only be used for the betterment of the program and do not go into the general fund.

As most of you know, our program was suspended for over a decade from the late 80s through 2000. By building a strong endowment, we are making it possible to sustain the program for the long-haul. Your contributions will provide:

  • Enhanced instructional activities and expansion of the program’s reach.
  • Student field trips to visit job sites and meet with HVAC&R professionals – the students currently make two of these trips per year in Northern and Southern California.
  • Student trips to the national ASHRAE convention.
  • Funds to keep our new HVAC&R Laboratory functional and state-of-the-art.
  • Equipment and supplies for the students to participate in Cal Poly’s Open House and showcase our industry.

The students and faculty at Cal Poly – along with all of us in the HVAC&R profession who benefit by the caliber of engineers that Cal Poly graduates – thank you for your generous support.

Sincerely,

Doug Scott*, VaCom Technologies
Rick Taipale*
Brad Young*, Wittler Young Co
Jesse Maddren, Professor
Steffen Peuker, Professor
Jennifer Mott, Professor

*Current Co-Chair and Member, Cal Poly HVAC&R Industry Advisory Board

 

Current IAB Spring event

From left to right: Brad Young (IAB co-chair), Rick Taipale (IAB co-chair), Steve Murphy

Students at the 2018 HVAC&R Spring Event

Mission

The objective of the Cal Poly HVAC&R Industry Advisory Board is to assist the Mechanical Engineering Department in maintaining the excellence of the HVAC&R program and to encourage it to continue it's traditional "hands-on" approach to engineering education. The goals of the HVAC&R Industry Advisory Board are:

  1. To help keep the Mechanical Engineering Department up-to-date on current and future needs of engineering graduates planning to enter the HVAC&R industry;
  2. To assist the Mechanical Engineering Department in developing and implementing goals related to the HVAC&R curriculum, laboratories and student activities;
  3. To create an opportunity for faculty to exchange ideas with people in the HVAC&R industry;
  4. To help HVAC&R industry leaders better understand the goals of the Mechanical Engineering Department;
  5. To assist the Mechanical Engineering Department in seeking public and private support for the HVAC&R curriculum, laboratories and student activities.

Members

Alyse Falconer
Point Energy Innovations
220 Montgomery Street Suite 321

San Francisco, CA 94101
(415) 663-6340
Email: alyse@pointenergyinnovations.com

John Boncich
ACCO Engineered Systems
6265 San Fernando Rd.
Glendale, CA 91201
(818) 244-6571 Ext. 2314
Email: jboncich@accoes.com

Blair Boyce
Vertical Systems Inc.
7113 Telegraph Road
Montebello, CA 90640
(310) 451-0630
Email: blair@vertisys.net

Joe Chin
Western Allied Mechanical
1180 O’Brien Drive
Menlo Park, CA 94025
(650) 326-0750
Email: jchin@westernallied.com

Will Clark
DMG Corp.
1110 W. Taft Ave.
Orange, CA 92865
(562) 692-1277
Email: will.clark@dmghvac.com

Vic Critchfield
Critchfield Mechanical Inc.
1901 Junction Ave
San Jose, CA 95131
(408) 437-7000
Email: vic@cmihvac.com

Blake Cunningham
ACCO Engineered Systems
9290 Beatty Drive
Sacramento, CA 95826
(916) 520-2123
Email:bcunningham@accoes.com

Adrian Giovenco
Pacific Coast Trane
310 Soquel Way
Sunnyvale, CA 94085
408-481-3659
Email: AGiovenco@trane.com

Paul Duckworth
Norman S. Wright - Duckworth
7320 N. Remington Avenue
Fresno, CA 93711-5750
(559) 449-8701
Email: pduckworth@nsw-duckworth.com

Andrew Hatfield
DMG North Inc.
8231 Alpine Ave. Suite 7
Sacramento, Ca. 95826
(916) 451-3730
Email: andrew@dmgn.com

Jon Gundersen
United Mechanical Inc.
2185 Oakland Road
San Jose, CA 95131
(408) 232-9000
Email: JGundersen@UMI1.com

Richard Holzer

ACCO Engineered Systems

265 McCormick Ave

Costa Mesa, CA 92626

(714) 793-7141

Email: rholzer@accoes.com

John Helm
DeBella Mechanical
625 Nuttman Street
Santa Clara, CA 95054
(408) 980-8741
Email: john@debellamech.com

Travis Hudson
Air Treatment Corp.
640 N. Puente Street
Brea, CA 92821
(909) 869-7975
Email: thudson@airtreatment.com

Wayne Howerton
P.O. Box 214
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
(770) 963-0902
Email: whowerton4@msn.com

Ken Mozek
Air Treatment Corp.
214 Dupont Street
San Jose, CA 95126
(408) 295-5000
Email: kmozek@airtreatment.com

Wayne Kimmel
Key Refrigeration
747 Enterprise Court
Livermore, CA 94550
(925) 294 8111
Email: wpk3414@yahoo.com

Kelly Robinson
3C Engineering, Inc.
PO Box 14823
San Luis Obispo, CA 93406
(805) 540-3363
Email: krobinson@3ceng.com

Steve Murphy
Blach Construction Co.
2020 Fortune Drive, Suite 100
San Jose, CA 95131
(408) 869-8326
Email:steve.murphy@blach.com

Doug Scott
VaCom Technologies
PO Box 1569
Atascadero, CA 93423
(909) 392-6704
Email: dscott@vacomtech.com

Joe Ross
tk1sc
15231 Laguna Canyon Road, Ste 100
Irvine, CA 92618
(949) 751-5800
Email: jross@tk1sc.com

Kevin Stillman
Capital Engineering Consultants, Inc.
11020 Sun Center Drive, Suite 100
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 851-3500
Email: kstillman@capital-engineering.com

Mike Shepherd
Email: smargmshep@gmail.com

Ron Sweet
DMG Corp.
1110 W. Taft Ave.
Orange, CA 92865
(562) 692-1277
Email: ron.sweet@dmghvac.com

Larry Sun
tk1sc
15231 Laguna Canyon Road, Ste 100
Irvine, CA 92618
(949) 751-5800
Email: lsun@tk1sc.com

Dennis Thompson
Siemens Building Technologies
25821 Industrial Blvd Ste 300
Hayward, CA 94070
(510) 723-7708
Email: dennis.thompson@siemens.com

Rick Taipale
Email: ricktaipale@yahoo.com

Aimee Warner
Southland Industries
33225 Western Avenue
Union City, CA 94587
(510) 477-3300
Email: AWarner@southlandind.com

Ryan Wall
Silicon Valley Mechanical
2115 Ringwood Ave
San Jose, CA 95131
(408) 943-0380
Email: rwall@svminc.com

Dale White
The Trane Company
4145 Del Mar Avenue
Rocklin, CA 95677
(916) 577-1100
Email: djwhite@trane.com

Richard Wells
Glumac
150 California Street, 3rd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4525
(415) 398-7667
Email: Rwells@glumac.com

Peter Thomas

Resource Compliance Inc.

P.O. Box 305

Dinuba, CA 93618

(559) 591-8898

Email: pthomas@resourcecompliance.com

Brad Young
Wittler Young Co. Inc.
2400 Forney St.
Los Angeles, CA 90031
(213) 225-5678
Email: brad@wyhvac.com

Corresponding Members:

Thomas Duval
Capital Engineering Consultants, Inc.
11020 Sun Center Drive, Suite 100
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 851-3500
Email: tduval@capital-engineering.com 

Giving

Click here to be redirected to the online giving page.

Events

16th Annual HVAC&R Spring Event

May 3-4, 2019

Registration Form (PDF)

Related Content