The ME Student Fee Allocation Committee (MESFAC) is a committee of five or more students, elected yearly by all eligible ME students that meets regularly in open meetings with the advice of staff and faculty and decides how to spend the college based fees.  This program was initiated by a student referendum in 2003 when all College of Engineering students agreed to increase their own student fees starting at $200 per quarter with cost of living increases with the understanding that 100% of the funds would go to their own department and the spending would be directed by students for enhancement of the program.  The first year’s MESFAC budget was approximately $600,000 and has grown since.   
Over the years, MESFAC has supported a broad range of items including additional courses, new lab equipment, course development, student projects and club activities.  The ME fee allocation committee has been the most active and organized committee in the college and continues to work with the department, college and university to ensure the college based fees directly improve the program.

All ME students can participate in the MESFAC.  You can nominate yourself as a candidate for the next committee.  Nominations occur at the beginning of spring quarter.  Elections are usually the fifth week of spring quarter.  Even if you are not running for the committee you should be interested in hearing what the candidates have to say to be sure your concerns and priorities will be represented and vote accordingly. Nominations, candidate information and voting is conducted on the Blackboard/ME-SFAC channel.

Committee members meet about five to six times a quarter to confer with the department and college, make a spending plan, review and vote on proposals.  All meetings are open to the public and student participation is encouraged.  If you have an idea or opinion you are welcome to come to the next meeting and be heard.

It is recommended that you first copy the MESFAC proposal form into a Word document to fill it out first and save it for later. The MESFAC proposal form cannot save proposals to edit later and once a proposal has been submitted it cannot be edited. Do not forget the Bill of Materials! Proposals missing the Bill of Materials cannot be approved. 

For instructions on how to submit a proposal, click here: 

Proposal submission instructions – Please read if you are new to MESFAC or have never submitted a proposal. 

Link will be activated once we begin accepting proposals.  Submit a New Proposal – Click here to submit a proposal for consideration. 

Search proposals – Search through submitted proposals. 

The easiest and quickest way to use your MESFAC approved funds is to buy the proposal items using your own personal funds and to submit a specific MESFAC reimbursment form through the Mechanical Engineering office. Keep your original receipts in order to facilitate the reimbursement process. Ask Christine Haas or an assistant in building 13, room 254 for a “MESFAC Reimbursment Form” and fill it out as instructed. 

If you lack the funds to buy the items youself, you may submit a Purchase Request form through the Mechanical Engineering office. Once again, ask Christine Haas or an assistant in building 13, room 254 for help with submitting one of these forms.

Keep in mind: 

All funds must be spent as indicated on your proposal form.

All funds on the proposal must be spent and forms submitted to Christine Haas/the ME Department 2 weeks before the end of spring quarter.

Please submit all forms and receipts to Christine Haas, Mechanical Engineering Dept Bldg 13-254. Any questions about the procedure, please email Christine at

2019-2020 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Donovan Zusalim 

Vice Chair: Cole Andrews

Secretary: Raymond Deng

Public Relations: Biren Rama

Treasurer: Kara Hewson


2018-2019 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Jessalyn Bernick

Vice Chair: Chris Fedor

Secretary: Lynette Cox

Public Relations: Donovan Zusalim

Treasurer: KC Egger


2017-2018 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Eric Zhong

Vice Chair: Jessalyn Bernick

Secretary: Nathan Harry

Public Relations: Kathryn Webb

Treasurer: Carl Stoye


2016-2017 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair:  Lucas Rybarczyk 

Vice Chair: Eric Zhong

Secretary: Zachary Sharpell

Public Relations: Paul Swartz

Treasurer: Kathryn Webb


2015-2016 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Gus Holz

Vice Chair: Lucas Rybarczyk

Secretary: Greg Orekov

Public Relations: Eric Dreischerf

Treasurer: Andrew Furmidge


2014-2015 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Andrew Cunningham

Vice Chair: Gus Holz

Secretary: Zachary Sharpell

Public Relations: Eric Dreischerf

Treasurer: Lucas Rybarczyk


2013-2014 MESFAC Committee

Student Representatives 

Chair: Allian Roman 

Vice Chair: Andrew Cunningham

Secretary: Bodin Rojanachaichanin

Public Relations: Gus Holz

Treasurer: Ian Milliken

The current committee can be reached by email at: